My daddy always says…

3 Jun

Careful what you ask for, you just might get it!

Hello, hard part, how are you? Good? Good. Now go away! I wish I could conjure up a million dollars just by saying I was waiting for it. *shakes fist at universe*

I’ve read that when you start working out, the weight loss slows down. You retain more water, you build a bit of muscle that weighs more than fat, blah blah blah.

Fuck that shit, man! I like to see those numbers get smaller!

I guess what I am supposed to be learning is that I should not rely on those numbers for my motivation. But it *scares* me to step on the scale and see a bigger number. I hate it. I don’t ever want that again. Ever. Of course, if that were true, I would not have had the giagantic breakfast I had this morning, no?

Oh, and the Hot Fries at work last night. *facepalm*

It’s so sick because I am tempted to *stop* working out because just changing my eating was working and the scale was moving and I *liked* it like that. If I am busting my butt AND the scale goes up? That ain’t right, yo.

2 Responses to “My daddy always says…”

  1. Trish June 4, 2005 at 12:37 am #

    I had this same issue a year ago April when I took on a personal trainer for weight training. I know all about muscle gain etc, but when the scale went UP 7lbs I was devastated especially because the week before the personal trainer I had hit my “lowest weight evah!” and well, it went buh-bye so fast I was really upset.

    Don’t give up! Try using other things to gauge your successes for now?

  2. renee June 6, 2005 at 12:25 pm #

    That is something I painfully relate too *sigh*, in the time it took me to lose 5lbs scale weight, others just like me, who weren’t working out, lost 10. It’s a mindf*ck.

    But I do want to be strong, muscular & be able to run so I only get on it every 6 weeks.

    I saw Oprah trainer said when we first start we should avoid the scale for 2-3 months b/c w/all the water we drink and muscles the # on the scale is gonna go up or maintain for a few week. :\

Leave a Reply

