Do as they say not as I do

6 Jun

Despite the excellent advice from Bob Green and my fellow bloggers, I stepped on the scale this morning for the official weekly weigh in.

195.

I just. What? I mean, when I got out of the shower I got back on the scale and it said 196. But, you know, water in my hair and shit, right? But still. I was preparing myself for a gain and there wasn’t one! Wtf?

I didn’t even eat that well this weekend. I stayed within my calorie range and stuff but I was basically eating food to satisfy cravings. I lost count of the number of pizza toast thingies I made. I might have to send Sara Lee a love letter for the Delightful Wheat Bakery Bread. It’s not 100% whole grain but it’s close enough and at only 90 calories for two slices, it saves my life when I want some crunchy-soft bread goodness.

Anyway, a lot of laying around feeling sorry for myself (that time of the month is here! woo!) and eating for comfort and I still come out of it at least even or one pound down! How does that happen? I did work out on Sunday, Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday, so that probably helped. It also bumped my calorie range up according to the Self suggestions for my activity level. It tops out at about 1,500 now, which when I am really focused on eating right, I have a hell of a time reaching without several servings of bread or rice.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not overjoyed or bragging here. I am surprised and confused and relieved. I am happy that I stuck to working out all week, so there is that. Who knows what would have happened if I had stayed on track all weekend though?

I don’t want to be overly harsh on myself but I feel like it’s important to sit back and ask myself if it was worth it. And it really wasn’t. But I have to admit that it was a nice feeling to see that 195 number and it certainly motivated me to have the hibachi chicken with veggies and no rice instead of a whole California roll (I did snag two small pieces from my friend) at lunch today. It makes it a lot easier to eat a plate full of green beans and broccoli if I know it’s going to translate in to smaller numbers on the scale. I know that I am supposed to be taking better care of myself because I deserve it and shit, but I haven’t really gotten to that point yet. So I’ll take whatever motivation I can get, yo.

Leave a Reply

