Doin’ the monster math

6 Jun

I chose 126 as my goal weight simply because I knew it was near my “healthy” range and it would be fun to say that I lost 100 pounds. However, just getting myself to the healthy range would be a good thing. For my own reference, I am going to slap those numbers here so I can gaze at them when I need more motivate:

Highest Weight: 226 = BMI of 40 = Morbidly Obese (Ouch!)

Current Weight: 195 = BMI of 34.5 = Obese (HATE THAT WORD! But at least I lost the morbidly)

Working Towards: 169 = BMI of 29.9 = Overweight (How many people have a goal of just being overweight?)

Normal Range: 140 = BMI of 24.8 = NORMAL

Goal Weight: 126 = BMI of 22.3 = Right smack dab in the middle of the NORMAL range

Now, according to the BMI chart, I could dwindle myself down to 105 pounds and still be in my normal range. Uh. Okaaaaay. First of all, never going to happen. Second of all, never would want it to happen.

Speaking of the normal range, when I was in 10th grade, I was on the swim team. At the time I weighed somewhere in the mid 140’s. My coach and my dad made up this deal where if I got to 140 or below, I could have some pizza. But NO pizza until I hit that mark. It’s the last time I remember working toward a weight goal.I remember hitting it and that pizza tasted *damn* good.

However, at the time, I didn’t think that I was at a “good” weight for me. I was already in a size 14 and rapidly working my way out of regular clothing stores. Of course, I look back on how *fat* I felt then and mentally smack myself because damn, would like to have that problem right now. If I could only go back in time and talk to that girl and let her know it would get a lot worse if she didn’t do something about it.

Anyway, 140 is admirably and when I make it there, I am going to be damn happy. But there is part of me that wants to get below that because I want to be able to shop wherever I want and not worry that the biggest size in the store won’t fit me.

Yeah, yeah. Being healthier, living longer, blah blah blah. I want some wee jeans and a baby-doll t-shirt, dammit.

Leave a Reply

