Go away and sort of come back another day

20 Jun

No, not the rain. My appetite! My body is one weird wonderland of confusion, I will tell you that. For the week and half leading up to my period, I wanted to eat six pizzas and an icecream truck. As soon as the, uh, flow got going (I try not to be grossed out when talking about this because it’s not gross, dammit, I am woman hear me roar! But, um, it kinda is! I am so sorry, Gloria Steinem!), my appetite completly left the building and it hasn’t come back yet.

One would think that would be a good thing but, for me, it isn’t. When I don’t feel much like eating, the only things that get me to eat are my big cravings. Starchy, salty, saucy goodness, oh my! Take yesterday, I didn’t get up the energy to eat until well in to the afternoon. That’s not a mortal sin or anything, but it lead to me not eating much for the rest of the day and then finding myself *starving* at 9:30. I knew I should eat something but nothing but pizza sounded good. So, more spelt pizza. And then some Wasa crackers. Lotsa Wasa crackers. I went over my recommended carbs yesterday and I knew it. I knew it while I was munching down on the crackers, too. But I kept on eating because I finally wanted to for the first time in days.

However, after all of the eating, not wanting to eat and being incredibly lazy and skippy when it came to exercising, the scale still had me down 2.5 lbs this morning. Yeah, I dunno. Maybe I was bloated last week and actually lost it then but didn’t notice because of the bloating and then the bloat when away and now I see the change. Or something.

So, yeah, my body is not a temple, it’s an insane asylum.

I will give myself a little credit, though. I went to see Batman Begins (for the third time and if you haven’t seen it, YOU MUST!) yesterday at 11am. I was feeling sort of hungry and thought popcorn for breakfast would be good. But you know what I did? Instead of buying it at the theater and writing it off as a treat, I popped my *own* popcorn and stuffed it in a little baggie in my purse. Against the rules? Hell yeah! Rebel lifestyle changer! Woo! Anyway, so that was my first victory of the day. Movie theater popcorn is not that good, certainly not worth the fat and calories from the hideous oils they used. I’ve already ranted in other places about the abhorrent lack of healthy choices at the theater and my confusion as to why they haven’t jumped on the bandwagon.

Anyway, due to my appetite issues, I only ate a little bit of it, so I was pretty hungry after 2+ hours of watching Christian Bale be the hottest thing ever! Now, in the past, I would have driven over to my favorite Italian place or plopped myself down at Le Peep for a nice big brunch. But I did not. As much as I wanted to eating something that I really loved, I resisted the high calorie, high fat stuff that I would have eating without a second thought in the past. I have to give credit to the whole online food diary thing. Knowing that if I go home and input Chicken Bryan Texas with fettuccini alfredo and a half a loaf of sourdough bread, I’ll see that I’ve used up three days worth of calories in one sitting is certainly motivation to skip over that sort of thing.

The understanding that things I would have eaten without pause in the past are so extremely calorie laden has helped me avoid them more than I ever thought possible. I am constantly amazed at how taking a few seconds to think about what I am eating and what it will be like to input it all in my food diary has done to my ability to choose much more wisely. That’s one piece of advice that I can wholeheartedly stand behind.

One Response to “Go away and sort of come back another day”

  1. Itty-Bitty Me June 20, 2005 at 8:24 pm #

    What a good job!! 😮 )

    I log my food too, so I definitely know where you’re coming from with the accountability of cold, hard numbers.

    I actually carry around a little journal with me, that I log my food in while I am away from home. That has helped me a lot, since I don’t conveniently forget about things that I’ve eaten. lol

    Anywho, keep up the good work! 😮 ) I will hopefully be able to see the newest Batman installment this next weekend. *wiggles eyebrows*

Leave a Reply

