find me a river to float away on

21 Jun

First of all, I have been meaning for days to say howdy to those of you who are actually reading this. *waves* And a big welcome to anyone who came over here because of Mo. I’ve done this thing on and off for a few years now but it’s still strange to know that other people are reading it. It’s a good thing, though, because it keeps me honest. And encouraging comments are always, uh, encouraged. 🙂

Now that I’ve got the pleasantries out of the way, let’s talk about yesterday, shall we? I am in a bit of a conundrum, as the wedding that was the catalyst for this health revolution of mine is this coming Saturday. I am happy that I have come so far and that it actually shows. However, most of the things I planned to wear are a bit big. What’s the point of losing the weight if I go to the wedding in something that doesn’t fit?

On the other hand, it’s all wearable with the assistance of creative beltage and the like. I don’t really want to spend money on what I hope is transitional clothing unless I have to. I thought I would look anyway, as Lame Giant was having a big sale and the Old Navy is always interesting to visit. One problem I do need to tackle is the lack of shorts to wear. I’ve only got one pair that aren’t falling of me (YAY!).

The Old Navy was first. I must give them props because they are the *only* store I could buy jeans from for a long time, as I am short and the fashion industry has decided that if you weigh as much as I do, you must be 14 feet tall. Even the petite and short sizes at most places were too long. But not at the Navy. However, no cute jeans were on sale so I didn’t even grab any to try on. I did grab some short and a few t-shirts that were on sale. Being brave, I decided to go with size 16 in the shorts since the 18s I have at home are the ones that don’t fit.

I took a deep breath and pulled the shorts on and…well, they buttoned, which is a victory in itself. However, um, my fat is different now. Before it was a big, solid ring around my middle, a spare tire if you will. Now it’s sort of a deflated inner tube. A bit floppy and squishy, enough so that when I tried the shorts on, it was rather noticable. I guess that is a positive change. If I wear pants up under my boobs, that is. Heh. The second pair I tried on were not nearly as bad but they were stretchy and I was afrair to buy them and have *them* not fit in a few weeks. (See how cocky I am getting? *snerk*) Therefore, I skipped the Navy shorts.

I guess I should talk about the shirts, too. Again, yay for the Navy and their XXLs. Until they decided to have three different fits, that is. One day, I wandered in and grabbed an XXL and headed to the dressing room. Imagine my horror when I could barely get the damn thing over my head. The panic subsided a little when I realized I had grabbed a tiny fit. Yes, they decided that it would be more fun to have even smaller shirts! Woo! You’ve got your easy fit, for the “big girls”, your perfect fit for the “normal” ladies and the tiny fit for those bitches that like everything skin-tight and tummies bared. Heh. Kidding! Love them! Want to be one! That’s so special! From then on, only the easy fit, uh, fit. But not yesterday! Yesterday? I bought a perfect fit. I didn’t even have to do that stretching thing before I put it on. You know that thing you do, where you get a shirt you think *might* fit, so when you put your arms through it, you sort of stretch it out wide so that it will be as big as possible when you put it on? Yeah, I am an expert at that. Didn’t need it, don’t ever want to again. I also tried on an XXL of one of their dress shirts. AND IT WAS TOO BIG! Um, mostly because my breasts have disappeared, but still. TOO BIG! In a NORMAL STORE! The mind is still reeling.

After that small triumph, I went to Lane Bryant. I have to give them a little love because there was a time when that was the only place I could buy clothes and not look like a senile grandma. But I can say with all sincerity that I look forward to the day when I never have to go there again. So, the sale. One of the horrible things about their sales is what is left. Yes, the 14-16 and then everything over 26. I never understood the point of anything being a 14 there. Why in heaven would you shop at LB if you could wear that size? Can you see where this is going? Am I being subtle enough? Anyway, they had some shorts and shirts on sale but nothing that really wowed me or was better than what was in my closet. Still, I was there so I tried on a jean skort-thing and a blouse. Again, I was feeling the high of the Old Navy experience, so I grabbed a 16 in the skort and a 14/16 in the blouse. Let’s just say, I bought them both. Wearing the blouse right now. Entirely too happy with myself. Heh.

I will say that I also tried on bras and learned even more about my floppy fat and not in a fun way. Overall, the shopping was a good experience. I got to enjoy the benefits of my efforts but I was also reminded that I haven’t come nearly as far as I want to.

6 Responses to “find me a river to float away on”

  1. Itty Bitty Me June 21, 2005 at 4:23 pm #

    Congrats on your shopping trip!! Yay! Buying new (read: smaller) clothes is so much fun. 😮 )

    I hear ya, about the funky fat thing. It is definitely weird how it changes shape and moves itself around through the losing process. lol Hey, at least it is going though!

  2. sherpa melissa June 21, 2005 at 5:36 pm #

    How exciting! I love buying clothes at normal stores. Although, I am also a shorty so it is not as easy as it could be. We must be shaped different because Old Navy pants never fit me right. I have been buying my transitional clothes on ebay as much as possible. My boobs disappeared just last week. I can’t believe it. Isn’t this all so fun?

  3. jj June 21, 2005 at 6:24 pm #

    I had the same experience earlier this year… I took a dress to the drycleaner to wear to a wedding, and when I tried it on the morning of the wedding… OOPS! It fit like a paper bag. Luckilly I had a wedding-appropriate skirt that fit (well, it stayed on), but I had to run to Macy’s the morning of the wedding to find a top to go with it!

  4. Dolley June 22, 2005 at 3:37 pm #

    Yay you! And yes, the fat can get strange. I lost weight really quickly at one point (I wasn’t trying to, it was the side effect of working out like a lunatic), and my weight came off lopsided; I mean, my hips kind of slipped; there’s no other description for it.

    I did find that the skin on my midriff had gotten kind of strange and crepey; I don’t know if it was due to the weight loss, the speed of the loss, or to adhesions, or to the fact that I’ve gotten older and I hadn’t been paying much attention to what my midriff had been doing. Just … don’t be all berserk if the skin gets a bit loose, OK? Because you’re doing great.

    Oh, and I buy size 14 jeans from LB because the ones I’ve tried everywhere else just didn’t frickin’ fit.

  5. Zara June 22, 2005 at 8:58 pm #

    Old Navy is one of my fave places to shop, too. I just feel loyal to them since they were the first “hip” store to have clothes that fit me after I lost some weight, but not enough to fit in clothes elsewhere. I love that they carry plus sizes in their stores. And as for the floppy fat? Yeah, I have that, too. I’ve learned to love it for being floppy instead of blown up like the Goodyear Blimp. I’ll take floppy fat/skin over tight fat/skin that feels like it will tear ANY day. 🙂

  6. BethK June 23, 2005 at 12:49 pm #

    I also had a similar problem finding petites in larger sizes. Curiously, I found that LL Bean’s petites fit me right. As long as I stuck with the solid colors I could use funky shoes and accessories to make it all feel, well, less LL Bean. Old Navy clothes never fit me right. See that just goes to show that a lot of the time, it ain’t us that are off, it’s the clothes.

    My fat is also very different now; less soild, more squishy and definitely ‘deflated’ looking. Hey, I’ll take it.

Leave a Reply

