All aboard!

4 Jul

Next time I travel? I am totally taking a train.

Generally, my last day at home is rather pleasant and relaxing. My dad and I hang out in the morning and then have a leisurely lunch before it’s time for me to fly out. But not this time. This time, my mother decided she wanted to have lunch with me and drop me off at the airport.

It started out okay. As well as gathering with my mother can go, really. Until we actually got to the airport. Once we were seated comfortably to wait to go through security (we were there way early, so we sat and chatted for awhile), mom decides it’s time to have a talk.

It began innocent enough. A few comments about my hair. You see, when I travel, I generally don’t give a damn what I look like. I am always tired and I am never looking forward to hours spent on planes and in airports. My hair and makeup are the last things on my mind. Also, I’ve been growing my hair out and recently, I have been putting it up in a little bun to get it out of my face. Well, mother doesn’t like the bun. The bun isn’t flattering. I will never get married and have children and I will die alone with 57 cats if I keep wearing my hair in a bun!

I wish I was kidding.

Then she started in with metaphorical yammering about how sprucing yourself up was like advertising and I basically just tried to block her out. Then? Then she started crying over the fact that I am going to die alone with 57 cats. She just knows that I am aching to get married and knows that I am lonely, blah blah mothercakes. This went on for a good ten minutes. Her bemoaning my single status, me telling her I was okay with where I am.

I have to admit that right now, the kind of guy I am looking for would not find me attractive. I don’t think I would trust a guy who took one look at me and wanted to get to know me better. I know that might sound a little weird, but there it is. I will admit to allllll of you reading that I have, in fact, never been on a date. Does this bother me? Of course it does. Could I have gone on dates? Sure. If I don’t mind my men a few decades older and a few missing teeth.

But I kid. Sort of. Really, it’s just that I am still not in a place where I really know myself and the idea of getting in to a relationship right now is a bit more to chew than I am willing to bite off. Ahem.

Anyway, after my mother’s lecture, I headed through security and waited for my plane to board. And wouldn’t you know it? A hot guy was my seat mate. A hot guy in a Red Wings hat. And an iPod. And really sexy hands.

I must say that I appreciate my karmic bitchslaps to be pleasing to the eye. But it didn’t make it any easier. Of course on today, of all days, after listening to my mom go on about it, I have to sit next to a hot guy I would totally want to date.

Leave a Reply

